Defend Your Bioreactor: Barrier Filtration as a Key Part of an Upstream Virus Safety Strategy


Thursday, September 21, 2017

Session 1: 3:00 AM EDT, 12 AM PDT, 9 AM CEST

Duration: 1 Hour
View your Time Zone start time

Register Now

Session 2: 11:00 AM EDT, 8 AM PDT, 5 PM CEST

Duration: 1 Hour
View your Time Zone start time

Register Now


Abstract:

New membrane technology enables cost-effective and easy-to-use virus filtration of cell culture media and other upstream components.

Biopharmaceutical manufacturing requires a multilayered approach to virus safety to minimize the risk of contamination. Despite careful sourcing and testing of raw materials, there remains a risk of introducing virus into bioreactors, which could impact manufacturing operations and cause significant business disruption.

This webinar will discuss implementation of a novel virus filter as part of an upstream virus safety strategy. This filter is specifically designed to filter cell culture media and other upstream components without impacting cell culture or media composition. This point-of-use operation is easy to implement and reduces the risk of introducing virus into a bioreactor, as a last line of defense.

In this webinar, you will learn about:

  • Upstream virus filtration as a means of mitigating risk of bioreactor contamination
  • Methods of ensuring that a new upstream technology has no negative effect on cell growth or protein quality
  • How an optimized membrane contributes to high throughput and process economics
Presenters:

Merck:/Freestyle/PS-Process-Solutions/webinars/Mathilde-Bourguignat-125x169.jpg
Session 1 Speaker

Mathilde Bourguignat is currently working as a Biomanufacturing Engineer responsible for chromatography and column packing, as well as virus filtration and validation. Her role is to assist customers to implement and develop chromatography and virus filtration processes at all scales, as well as to help troubleshoot and provide training.

She has an engineering diploma from the ENSAIA (National engineering school of food industry), with a specialization in Biotechnologies.


Merck:/Freestyle/PS-Process-Solutions/webinars/David-Bohonak.jpg
Session 2 Speaker

David Bohonak, Ph.D. is a senior applications engineer with 12 years of experience in biopharmaceutical manufacturing. His expertise includes membrane-based separations, filter fouling mechanisms, and membrane characterization. His work experience includes the development of new virus filters and identification of best practices for downstream processes and single-use manufacturing technologies.

Dave holds B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Chemical Engineering from the Pennsylvania State University and a Master of Chemical Engineering degree from the University of Delaware. He has an engineering diploma from the ENSAIA (National engineering school of food industry), with a specialization in Biotechnologies.



top